It’s among the most popular non-dairy milk alternatives. But is almond milk gluten-free? Or is it not compatible with a gluten-free diet?
I’ve become increasingly sensitive to regular dairy in recent years, so I’ve mostly switched from cow’s milk to other alternatives, and one of my favorites is almond milk.
But what if you’re gluten intolerant? Can you still enjoy almond milk?
The good news is that almond milk is gluten free. That means it’s considered safe for those with Celiac disease, another gluten intolerance, or a non-Celiac gluten sensitivity.
In this post, I’ll cover the ingredients that go into almond milk, some popular gluten-free almond milk brands, and how to make your own almond milk at home.
Does almond milk have gluten?
From desserts to waffles to smoothies, almond milk can be a delicious cow’s milk substitute if you’re on a dairy-free diet or have lactose intolerance. And the same is true if you’re gluten-intolerant.
Natural almond milk only contains a couple of ingredients: almonds and water. And most store-bought brands will include additional preservatives and natural flavors.
These can include gellan gum (a food stabilizer), sunflower lecithin (to help foods from separating), and calcium carbonate (to act as an added source of calcium normally found in cow’s milk).
Since none of those ingredients contain gluten, almond milk is considered gluten free. In addition, many almond brands are also soy-free, egg-free, free of any GMOs, and can be good sources of vitamin D and vitamin E.
That said, each almond brand is different, so it’s a good idea to always check the product label to make sure it doesn’t include any gluten-containing products on its ingredient list.
Another concern is that the production facility that produces the almond milk may also process foods that do contain gluten. That could result in a risk of cross-contamination. In that event, the product label should not claim that the almond milk is gluten-free.
Gluten-Free Almond Milk Brands
Most almond milks from the grocery store will clearly note that they’re gluten-free on the label. Here’s a list of popular brands of almond milk that do not contain gluten.
Almond Breeze (Blue Diamond). Almond Breeze makes several flavors of sweetened and unsweetened almond milk, from original to vanilla to chocolate. All of them are gluten-free.
Silk. Silk makes both almond milk and almond coffee creamer. These are all gluten-free and considered safe for those with gluten intolerances or gluten allergies.
Trader Joe’s. The Unsweetened Almond Beverage, an almond milk made by Trader Joe’s, is also gluten-free and vegan.
O Organics. This Albertsons and Safeway house brand almond milk is gluten-free and non-GMO.
So Delicious. This brand of almond milk is certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization.
Orgain. Orgain organic almond milk is labeled gluten free, as well as GMO-free, and includes no artificial preservatives or flavors.
Califia Farms. All Califia Farms products, including their almond milk, are gluten-free, vegan, and 100% plant-based, so they’re compatible with a vegan diet.
Pacific Foods. This brand of almond milk is also gluten-free and made with organic almonds.
How to make homemade almond milk
If you live a gluten-free lifestyle, one of the best ways to ensure your almond milk is gluten free is to make your own! And it’s easier than you may think.
- 1 cup almonds
- 4 cups cold, filtered water
- Sugar or other sweeteners (optional)
- Nut Milk Bag
1. Soak the almonds in cool water for 6 hours to soften them, then drain using a strainer.
2. Add soaked almonds to a blender with [cups] of cold water and optional sweeteners.
3. Blend for 2 minutes or until completely blended together in a creamy texture.
4. Pour the mixture into a nut milk bag and squeeze the milk out over a mixing bowl. If you don’t have a nut milk bag, you can also use a cheesecloth.
5. Transfer the milk from the mixing bowl to another container like a glass mason jar. Store in the fridge.
Many Starbucks locations in the United States use Califia Farms almondmilk in their drinks. While that brand of almond milk has no gluten-containing ingredients, Starbucks plainly states that it cannot guarantee any of its offerings are gluten free. That’s because they share equipment to store, serve, and prepare foods, which could result in gluten cross-contamination.
Store-bought almond milk will stay fresh until at least the expiration date listed on the carton. Once opened, it will keep for 7-10 days in the fridge. Homemade almond milk will stay good for up to 5 days in the refrigerator. You can also freeze almond milk for 3-6 months. However, it can separate during the freezing process, so you may need to reblend it after thawing.
Yes, most soy milk is gluten-free, but it’s a good idea to check the manufacturer’s ingredient label to make sure no included additives contain gluten.
More gluten-related answers
Learn whether more of your favorite foods and beverages are gluten free. Tap these posts.