Chicken broth is commonly added to a wide range of dishes to add depth of flavor. And it’s a great base for soups and stews. But is chicken broth gluten free?
We make a lot of our own chicken broth and stock in our household, and when we have turkey we make turkey stock out of that, too. It’s so easy to do, uses simple ingredients, and you can freeze big batches for later use.
And the good news is, chicken broth is gluten free if it’s made with natural ingredients. But if you buy it at grocery stores, check the label, as some may use additives that do contain gluten.
Let’s take a look at what’s in chicken broth, as well as some store-bought brands that do and don’t contain gluten.
How do you make chicken broth?
From rice dishes to soups to pastas, chicken broth is an easy and affordable way to add flavor to your favorite recipes and comfort foods. Traditional broth is typically made by combining water with chicken meat and vegetables — like carrots, celery, and onions — along herbs, salt, and pepper.
Then everything is simmered for 2-5 hours until the broth develops the flavor you’re looking for. Finally, you simply strain the liquid into airtight containers like mason jars or silicone trays. Then store the broth either in the fridge or the freezer.
The process is similar to making chicken stock.
Is broth the same as stock?
While some use the terms “broth” and “stock” interchangeably, they’re actually created with different ingredients. While chicken broth is made from chicken meat, stock is made from chicken bones.
Those bones add collagen and gelatin to the simmering stock, so you get a thicker liquid compared to broth. But generally, the meat used in broth tends to make it more flavorful.
When should you use each one? Well, if you’re making a thinner soup like chicken noodle soup or you want to simply add a bit of flavor to a dish, chicken broth is a good option. If you want to make a stew or sauce thicker, then consider using stock instead.
Does chicken broth have gluten?
If you’re making your own chicken broth and you’re using only natural ingredients like fresh chicken, vegetables, and herbs, then it will be gluten free.
And if you buy chicken broth at the grocery store, it will also be compatible with a gluten-free diet, as long as it doesn’t include any gluten ingredients.
But not all store-bought brands of chicken broth are the same. Many add preservatives and flavorings that contain gluten.
So, it’s always important to check the label and allergen statements for terms like “includes traces of wheat,” or ingredients like yeast extract made from barley. Not all yeast extract is made this way, so if the ingredients list on the broth notes yeast extract, also look for a gluten-free label. That will help identify if it’s ok to consume if you have Celiac disease or a non-Celiac gluten sensitivity.
Is chicken stock gluten free?
Like with broth, as long as the stock uses no gluten-containing ingredients, then it will be compatible with gluten-free diets and safe for those with gluten sensitivities.
Chicken broth brands that are gluten free
If you prefer to buy chicken broth or stock at the store rather than making your own, there are several gluten-free options you can choose from. Here are a few popular brands:
Swanson – Swanson’s 100% Natural, Gluten-Free Chicken Broth, Natural Goodness Chicken Broth and Organic Chicken Broth — as well as their regular and organic chicken stocks — are all gluten free.
Kirkland – Kirkland’s Organic, Gluten-Free Chicken Stock comes in a pack of six — ideal if you like to buy in bulk.
Progresso – Progresso Classic Chicken Broth features reduced sodium and all-natural gluten-free ingredients.
Pacific Foods – Pacific Foods Organic Free Range Chicken Broth is non-GMO, and they also offer a gluten-free chicken stock.
Kettle & Fire – Kettle & Fire Organic Chicken Broth is gluten-free, keto-friendly, paleo-friendly, with no preservatives or artificial flavors.
Trader Joe’s – Organic Free Range Chicken gluten-free broth is made with free range chicken and all-natural organic ingredients.
Chicken broth brands that are not gluten free
365 by Whole Foods Market – According to its label, Organic Low Sodium Chicken Broth is made in a facility that also processes wheat and soy. So it may not be safe for those with a gluten intolerance or a gluten allergy.
Chicken bouillon is a concentrated, dehydrated form of chicken broth that comes in powder or cubes. It’s added to soups, sauces, and other foods to add chicken flavor. Some gluten-free bouillon brands include Edward & Sons, Herb-Ox, and Vogue Cuisine. But others may have gluten, so it’s important to check the product packaging for a gluten-free claim. Also, check the ingredients label for any sources of gluten.
Unopened, store-bought chicken broth can be stored in a cool, dry place like a pantry, where it can keep for up to a year after the expiration date. Once opened, it should be refrigerated and can stay good for 3-4 days.
Homemade broth should be kept in an airtight container in the fridge where it can keep for up to 4 days. Or you can store it in the freezer for up to 6 months.
More gluten-related answers
Check whether other foods and drinks are gluten-free or not. Tap the posts below.