From salad dressings to sauces and rubs and hot dogs, Dijon mustard can add depth and tanginess to a wide range of dishes. But is Dijon mustard gluten free? Or is it not compatible with a gluten-free diet?
If you have a gluten intolerance, you want to make sure your food — and what you put on it — is all gluten-free. That goes for toppings and condiments.
If you’re a fan of sharp mustards, the good news is that Dijon mustard is gluten-free.
But what about other mustard types? Read on to find out.
What is Dijon mustard?
Hailing from the town of Dijon in eastern France, this tangy mustard’s origins date back to the Middle Ages.
For centuries, Dijon had been locally recognized as an epicenter for producing the best of these sharp mustards.
But in the 19th century, it began to garner more widespread popularity, in part due to the creation of the now-famous Grey Poupon brand which was first released in 1866.
Unlike milder flavors popular in American-style regular yellow mustards, Dijon has a zesty, slightly spicy tang to it. And the hue is a muted yellow rather than a bright one.
Key ingredients in Dijon mustard include brown or black mustard seeds, white wine, water, sugar, and salt, along with some spices.
Is Grey Poupon Dijon mustard gluten free?
Grey Poupon is perhaps the most well-known Dijon mustard brand. And, yes Grey Poupon is gluten free. None of the items on its ingredient statement contain gluten. So it should be safe for those with Celiac disease or a non-Celiac gluten sensitivity to consume.
However, the product isn’t specifically labeled gluten-free, so it may be susceptible to cross-contamination during the manufacturing process. So if even trace amounts of gluten are problematic for you, it may be best to consider other mustard alternatives.
Gluten-free mustard brands
A significant number of Dijon mustard brands do explicitly label their products as gluten free. That means they do not use gluten ingredients. And the facilities that produce the mustards also operate in a way that protects against cross contamination. However, it’s always a good idea to read the product labels and nutritional information carefully.
Here’s a list of other popular mustard brands that are certified gluten-free.
- French’s Dijon Mustard
- Annie’s Organic Dijon Mustard
- Organicville Dijon Mustard
- Koops’ Dijon Mustard
Other gluten-free options may include Heinz Dijon mustard and Gulden’s. The ingredient list for their mustards do not include any items that have gluten, but the labels do not explicitly indicate gluten free.
Are other types of mustard gluten free?
Yes, most other kinds of mustard along with Dijon are gluten free. This includes regular yellow mustard, spicy brown mustard, stone ground mustard, and honey mustard.
However, some vinegar used in certain types may not be. This is especially true for malt vinegar, which is made from barley. And barley contains gluten. So it’s best to read over the ingredients statement on your mustard before buying.
Dijon mustard is a great addition to vinaigrette dressings and meat rubs, adding both flavor and texture. It also can add tanginess to potato salad and deviled eggs. And it works well as a spread in sandwiches.
An unopened jar or container of Dijon mustard can last for up to three years in the pantry. After you open it you should refrigerate it, where it should keep for up to one year.
The main differences are ingredients and flavor. Basic yellow mustard is made with yellow mustard seeds and has a mild tanginess. Dijon uses brown or black mustard seeds and in some cases white wine. It has a much sharper, zestier, and richer flavor.
More gluten answers
Wondering what other foods and drinks may or may be gluten-free? Tap the links below.
Leave a Reply