Twix are among the most popular candy bars in the United States. The caramel, chocolate, and crunchy cookies combine to make a tasty treat. But what if you have a gluten sensitivity or allergy? Are Twix gluten free, or are they not compatible with a gluten-free diet?
We usually have a lot of Twix in our house. From the Valentine’s Day Twix to the Halloween ones, there seems to be a Twix for just about every holiday. And since the original Twix bar comes in packs of two, they’re also shareable.
But if you have Celiac disease, suffer from a gluten sensitivity, or simply are on a gluten-free diet, can you still enjoy them? Or should you steer clear of Twix?
What is Twix?
Twix candy bars have three main components: a crunchy cookie, a caramel layer, and a chocolate coating. They come in a variety of sizes from “fun size” (which are really not that fun at all since they’re the smallest!) to king size, which is the largest.
Mars Inc. first launched Twix in the U.K. in the late 1960s. It introduced Twix to the U.S. in 1979. Now it ranks as the 5th most popular candy bar in America, behind KitKat and Snickers. More than 160 million of the bars are sold each year.
Is Twix gluten free?
One of the main ingredients of Twix is enriched wheat flour. And since wheat flour contains gluten naturally, that means Twix is not gluten free. So, if you are Celiac, or have a gluten allergy or intolerance, you should avoid eating them.
What else is in a Twix Bar?
Apart from enriched wheat flour, Twix also includes dairy in the form of skim milk, sugar, corn syrup, soy lecithin, corn starch, cocoa butter, cocoa powder, and some artificial flavor.
So they are also not dairy-free due to the animal milk. And unfortunately, many don’t consider them vegan either because of the milk and the inclusion of palm oil.
Gluten-free alternatives to Twix
If you’re looking for a candy bar similar to Twix but without the gluten, you have a few options, These include:
Schar Chocolix – These candy bars have a caramel center surrounded by a crunchy cookie, which is all covered in a chocolate layer. So, the same basic makeup as a Twix, just in a slightly different combination. And all gluten free.
No Tricks Candy Bars – These cookie, caramel, and chocolate treats have no gluten, and are also milk-free, free of peanuts and tree nuts, and egg free.
Vegan Twix bars alternative
While they’re not gluten free, Go Max Go 2fer bars are very similar to Twix, without the milk. They feature a crunchy shortbread cookie base with caramel and chocolate and the company says all of the ingredients they use are compatible with a vegan diet.
Other gluten-free chocolate bars and candies
If you’re not looking specifically for a Twix alternative, several other popular chocolate brands are gluten-free and are widely available. These include:
- Hershey’s Plain Milk Chocolate Bars
- Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups
- Kinder Chocolate
- Milky Way Caramel and Milky Way Dark
While the main types of these chocolates are gluten-free, each brand may offer other variations or seasonal chocolates that may contain gluten. It’s always a good idea to check the labels and ingredient list carefully before consuming.
The product label should also indicate whether the food was made with production line equipment that is also used to make foods that contain gluten. In these cases, it will say something like “processed in a shared facility.” Also, look for phrases that show whether it includes traces or small amounts of gluten or gluten products.
The bottom line
So, are Twix gluten-free? Unfortunately, Twix are not gluten free. So, you may want to avoid Twix bars if you have a gluten intolerance or allergies. This applies to all of the various Twix flavors — including Original, Cookies and Creme, Cookie Dough, and Salted Caramel Twix.
But there are several great gluten-free options available that contain cookies, as well as many other popular cookie-free chocolate bar brands. So if you’re craving a sweet treat but can’t have gluten, you should still be able to find something that satisfies your chocolate craving.
More food and beverage answers
Wondering whether some of your other favorite foods and drinks are gluten free? Tap the posts below.
Leave a Reply