This popular flavored rum is among the most recognizable brand of spirits in the world, but is Captain Morgan gluten free? Or should you refrain drinking this alcoholic beverage if you’re on a gluten-free diet?
Whether you prefer dark rum, light rum, or something in between, Captain Morgan probably has a variety that will you’ll like. In fact, it’s much more than the well-known spiced rum original.
And if you’re a rum lover, the good news is you can enjoy Captain Morgan, as most flavors are gluten free.
But there are some varieties you may want to avoid. Read on to find out more.
What is Captain Morgan rum?
If you’ve ever had a tropical rum punch or a Dark ‘n Stormy cocktail, there’s a good chance it was made with Captain Morgan.
The popular Captain Morgan Original spiced dark rum is actually a blend of 5 different rums from the Caribbean nations of Barbados, Jamaica, and Guyana.
The brand itself has been around for nearly 80 years. It’s named after Captain Henry Morgan, a former 17th century governor of Jamaica and privateer who amassed a fortune raiding Spanish settlements in the Americas.
Not exactly a glorified history. At any rate, it is among the most popular brands of rum. And there are now more than 15 types of Captain Morgan, ranging from white rum to spiced apple to cherry vanilla.
But are any of them gluten free?
Is captain morgan spiced rum gluten-free?
Captain Morgan original rum is gluten free. Like other dark and light rum, it is made from distilled sugarcane, which is naturally free from gluten.
So it should be compatible for those with Celiac disease, a gluten allergy, or other gluten intolerance.
However, as we noted above, the Captain Morgan brand produces several different types of rum and rum-based drinks. And many of them include various additional ingredients and flavorings.
So there’s the possibility that one or more of those could contain gluten. Unfortunately, it’s difficult to tell from the label as the U.S. government doesn’t require alcoholic beverages to include a list of ingredients on their packaging.
So in the case of Captain Morgan, you may want to avoid the flavored varieties if you’re on a gluten-free diet and stick to the original dark rum.
What’s in Captain Morgan rum and how is it made?
Captain Morgan is made with molasses (from sugarcane), yeast, water, spices, and mash. Once the rum is distilled, it’s aged in oak barrels for up to a year. This gives the final product a distinct amber-golden color.
What’s the best way to drink Captain Morgan?
Captain Morgan’s original spiced rum is really best in mixed drinks, rather than on its own. And it works well in a variety of cocktails.
While you may have heard of popular rum cocktails like Piña Coladas, daiquiris, and Mai Tais, those fruity drinks are typically made with light rum or a mix of light and dark (or a gold rum which is not aged as long as darker ones).
Since Captain Morgan is a darker rum, it will go better in darker-colored drinks with richer flavors. Some of the best options include Long Island Iced Tea, Dark ‘n Stormy, or a simple Captain Morgan and Coke.
To make things easy, you can always opt for one of Captain Morgan’s pre-made drink mixes.
Is all distilled alcohol gluten free?
Debate exists around whether spirits distilled from gluten grains like wheat or barley malt (such as many whiskeys), can be considered gluten-free. The U.S. Food and Drug Administration has stated that gluten is removed during the distillation process.
And the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau, which regulates distilled spirits in the U.S., has ruled that even those distilled from grains that have gluten can be labled as gluten free. As long as they don’t introduce any gluten during the production process.
Like many distilled spirits, Captain Morgan will keep for a fairly long time after opening. If it’s sealed well, it should stay good for up to a year without any noticeable loss in flavor. Unopened rum will last for decades.
No, it is not necessary to keep it refrigerated before or after you open it. Simply store it in a cool, dry place like a home bar or pantry. Keeping it in the fridge won’t harm the rum. It just isn’t required to maintain freshness.
More gluten-related answers
Find out whether some other common beverages contain gluten. Tap the links below.
Leave a Reply