Made with chocolate and hazelnuts, these candies are rich and decadent. But are Ferrero Rocher gluten free? Or do you need a different treat to satisfy your chocolate candy cravings if you’re on a gluten-free diet?
Ferrero Rocher are my wife’s favorite chocolates. For years, she would drop hints about how much she liked thew. Which of course would totally go over my head, because I’m a dude.
So she eventually just started buying them herself. And not sharing.
But it’s a good thing she’s not gluten free, because neither is this delicious treat.
Those Ferrero Rocher chocolates in the golden wrapper are not gluten free, since a main ingredient is wheat flour.
But what about other Ferrero Rocher chocolates? Read on to find out whether any of their sweet treats are gluten free.
What are Ferrero Rocher candies?
Ferrero Rocher chocolates are produced by the Ferrero Group. Founded more than 75 years in Alba, Italy, the company has now grown to become one of the world’s largest makers of packaged sweets.
The original “golden” Ferrero Rocher chocolate truffles are made with a whole crunchy hazelnut center, which is surrounded by a creamy chocolate hazelnut filling. It’s finished with a thin wafer shell that’s covered in chocolate and chopped hazelnuts.
Apart from Ferrero Rocher, the Ferrero group also produces Nutella, Kinder chocolates, and Tic Tac candies, among other brands.
What’s in a Ferrero Rocher chocolate?
The original golden Ferrero Rocher candies contain the following items on its ingredient list:
- Milk Chocolate (including sugar, cocoa butter, cocoa mass, skim milk powder, and butter)
- Palm Oil
- Wheat Flour
- Whey Powder
- Soy Lecithin
- Sodium Bicarbonate
The addition of wheat flour as one of the main ingredients is what makes this popular chocolate off-limits for those with gluten sensitivities.
Ferrero Rocher also makes different flavors of their popular praline balls. Ferrero RondNoir is basically a dark chocolate version of the original. And Raffaello is made with white chocolate, almonds, and coconut flakes.
However, both also feature wheat flour in their ingredients list, so they are not gluten free either. That means if you have Celiac disease, a gluten allergy, or other gluten intolerance, you may want to avoid eating these premium chocolate products.
They also contain tree nuts with the addition of the hazelnut, so if you have food allergies that include tree nuts, you’ll want to steer clear as well.
Ferrero Rocher products that are gluten free
The maker of Ferrero Rocher also produces several other food products. And many of them do not contain gluten. Here’s a list of all their gluten-free products:
- Nutella chocolate spread
- Ferrero Rocher Milk Chocolate Bar
- Ferrero Rocher Milk Chocolate Bar with Almond
- Ferrero Rocher Dark Chocolate Bar
- Ferrero Rocher White Chocolate Bar
- Kinder Chocolate bars and chocolate eggs (note: the Kinder Bueno bar is not gluten free as they contain wafers made with wheat flour)
- Mon Chéri chocolates
- Tic Tac
- Pocket Coffee (espresso covered in chocolate)
None of these products list gluten ingredients on their ingredient statement, so they should be compatible with a gluten-free diet.
The original Ferrero Rocher chocolate and hazelnut ball has about 80 calories, 6 carbs, and 5 grams of fat per piece.
You do not need to refrigerate Ferrero Rocher. It’s best to keep them in a cool, dry place out of direct sunlight, like a pantry. Unopened packages should keep for up to 8 months. Once opened, keep them in an airtight container to maintain peak freshness.
More gluten-related answers
Find out if more of your favorite snack foods have gluten or not. Tap the links below.
Leave a Reply