They’re round, salty, and crunchy and they can be a great alternative to more popular snack foods. But are Funyuns gluten free? Find out if you can enjoy Funyuns on a gluten-free diet.
Years ago when my wife and I worked in television news, we had a colleague who loved Funyuns. So much so, that he tried to get everyone else to love them, too. Ultimately, none of us quite reached his level of Funyun fandom.
And this was before they were cool. Wait, were they ever cool?
Anyway, he wasn’t gluten-intolerant. But if you are, can you enjoy Funyuns as well?
True to their name, Funyuns can be fun if you’re on a gluten-free diet, as they do not contain any gluten ingredients.
But they may still not be totally gluten-free. Read on to find out more.
What are Funyuns?
Made by Frito-Lay, Funyuns are round, crispy, onion-flavored snacks made mostly from cornmeal that are meant to resemble onion rings.
First introduced in the late 1960s, Funyuns continue to hold a special place in the snack food aisle at grocery stores, but perhaps behind more popular favorites like potato chips and pretzels.
While the two main varieties are Original Funyuns and Flamin’ Hot, over the years, Frito-Lay has tried to introduce other varieties, such as Chile & Limón and Steakhouse Onion. And who can forget 2001’s breakout flavor Wasabi?
But Flamin’ Hot Funyuns is the only one that has shown staying power. So if you like your onion rings hot and spicy, you’re in luck!
In terms of nutritional information, a one-ounce serving of Funyuns (about a dozen) has roughly 140 calories and 6 grams of fat.
Do funyuns have gluten?
Funyuns ingredients include enriched corn meal, vegetable oil (sunflower oil or canola oil), salt, corn starch, sugar, corn flour, buttermilk, onion powder, and garlic powder.
None of these contain gluten, so Funyuns are considered gluten-free and should be ok for those with a gluten allergy, or other gluten sensitivities.
But the production facilities that make these crunchy snacks also produce food items that may contain gluten. And while Frito-Lay says those facilities are cleaned between production runs, a risk of cross-contamination remains.
Frito-Lay also doesn’t confirm that Funyuns contain less than 20ppm of gluten. That’s the level that the FDA (U.S. Food and Drug Administration) says products can’t exceed in order to be labeled as gluten-free. So Funyuns do not display such a label.
So, this means Funyuns could still contain small amounts of gluten. If you have Celiac disease, other gluten-related disorders, or are very sensitive to gluten, this could pose an issue for you.
Gluten-free Funyuns alternatives
If you have gluten intolerances and are looking for alternatives to Funyuns, there are several available. Here are a few gluten-free options:
- PeaTos Crunchy Onion Rings – Gluten-free, non-GMO plant-based snacks.
- Trader Joe’s Sour Cream and Onion Rings – Made with lentil and rice.
- Vidalia Onion Snacks – Gluten-free snacks make with Vidalia onions.
- Cosmos Sour Cream and Onion Rings – Made with puffed corn.
Are Funyuns vegan?
Funyuns are not vegan because they contain milk ingredients, particularly buttermilk. This is true for both Original and Flamin’ Hot flavors.
So if you’re on a vegan diet, you won’t be able to enjoy a Funyuns snack.
You can get Funyuns in two flavors in the United States: Original and Flamin’ Hot. Other different flavors like Wasabi and Chile & Limón have been introduced over the past 20 years, but they were phased out.
Funyuns are made mostly with cornmeal and then molded into a ring shape using an extrusion process. The result is a crunchy, puffed up snack that resembles an onion ring.
More gluten-related answers
Wondering if more of your favorite foods have gluten? Check out these posts.